Scott Russo, MD

Scott Russo, MD - Orthopedic Specialists in Greater Grand Rapids, MIDr. Scott Russo specializes in the surgical and non-surgical treatment of spinal disorders and orthopaedic fracture care. He is accomplished in all areas of cervical, thoracic and lumbar spinal surgeries, including trauma, tumors, degenerative conditions, scoliosis and herniated discs. His subspecialty of interest is in the non-surgical and surgical care of pediatric and adult scoliosis and kyphosis. Dr. Russo is also part of the clinical faculty at Grand Valley State University, Michigan State University College of Human Medicine and the coordinator for the spine in the Grand Rapids Orthopaedic Residency Program.

Orthopaedic Associates Of Michigan Grand Rapids Top Doc

Make an Appointment


Hospital Affiliations

  • OAM Surgery Center at MidTowne
  • Spectrum Health
  • University of Michigan Health – West
  • Trinity Health St. Mary’s


  • Medical – Wayne State University Medical School (Detroit, Mich.), M.D., 1984
  • Undergraduate – Michigan State University (East Lansing, Mich.), BS, 1979

Board Certification

  • American Board of Orthopaedic Surgery


  • Fellowship – Southern Illinois University School of Medicine (Springfield, Ill.), Orthopaedic Spine Surgery, 1989-1990
  • Residency – Grand Rapids Orthopaedic Residency Program (Grand Rapids, Mich.), Orthopaedic Surgery, 1985-1989
  • Internship – Blodgett Memorial Medical Center (Grand Rapids, Mich.), 1984-1985

Certifications / Memberships

  • Scoliosis Research Society
  • American Academy of Orthopaedic Surgeons
  • North American Spine Society
  • American Spinal Injury Association
  • AO Spine
  • Michigan Orthopaedic Society
  • Michigan State Medical Society
  • Kent County Medical Society
  • American Association of Orthopaedic Executives
  • American Medical Association

Honors & Awards

  • Elected by the Scoliosis Research Society as a Candidate Fellow, 2012-2018
  • Elected by peers for inclusion in Best Doctors in America, 1996, 1997, 1998, 1999, 2000, 2001, 2002, 2007, 2008, 2009, 2013
  • Grand Rapids Orthopaedic Resident Program Teacher of the Year, 2011-2012